HOWTO: Enable Readiness for OBDII inspection after removing your o2 sensor - Page 8 - EvoXForums.com - Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Forums
EvoXForums.com - Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Forums
Go Back   EvoXForums.com - Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Forums > Evo X > Evo X Tuning > ECUFlash / OpenECU
Home Forum Store Members List Calendar Auto Loans vBGarage Photo Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

ECUFlash / OpenECU Subforum for discussion about ECUFlash / OpenECU software and tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2011, 07:45 PM   #71
SiliconTek
Forum Addict
 
SiliconTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
iTrader: (100)
Location: Autocrossing Somewhere
Posts: 8,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny08GSR View Post
MIX UP IN TERMINOLOGY.

For a "NOT SUPPORTED" test what should the test result show?

Pass or Fail.
It won't show anything but "N/A".

Let me see if I can find the printout.
__________________
2008 Evo X GSR
Self-Tuned
360hp/372tq

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936
America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed.
SiliconTek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2011, 07:48 PM   #72
SiliconTek
Forum Addict
 
SiliconTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
iTrader: (100)
Location: Autocrossing Somewhere
Posts: 8,776
This is what the statuses look like when doing the readiness fix per the instructions.

__________________
2008 Evo X GSR
Self-Tuned
360hp/372tq

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936
America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed.
SiliconTek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 01:41 AM   #73
Danny08GSR
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 6
Okay, I fail my inspection today. ALL test showed not ready. Here is what I did....

I copied the patched from the first post in this thread into the xml for my ROM ID (52680017).

I then went in ECU Flash and began to edit the tables with the proper values. When I change A1BD in part 1 all values for "Available/Not Available" change to "0". Shouldnt this change them all to "1"?

I then change the remain values, and when I enter 60FF for A0BD in the Monitor Completion patch all the values for the "Pass/Fail" table turn to "1" Pass.

So here is my question, is it possible that the xml code on the first patch is wrong? If I enter the 60FF into the A1BD cell for Part 1 then all values for the "Available/Not Available" show "1" like i think it should.

Please if someone could help.....this has been driving me insane!
Danny08GSR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 01:45 AM   #74
SiliconTek
Forum Addict
 
SiliconTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
iTrader: (100)
Location: Autocrossing Somewhere
Posts: 8,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny08GSR View Post
Okay, I fail my inspection today. ALL test showed not ready. Here is what I did....

I copied the patched from the first post in this thread into the xml for my ROM ID (52680017).

I then went in ECU Flash and began to edit the tables with the proper values. When I change A1BD in part 1 all values for "Available/Not Available" change to "0". Shouldnt this change them all to "1"?

I then change the remain values, and when I enter 60FF for A0BD in the Monitor Completion patch all the values for the "Pass/Fail" table turn to "1" Pass.

So here is my question, is it possible that the xml code on the first patch is wrong? If I enter the 60FF into the A1BD cell for Part 1 then all values for the "Available/Not Available" show "1" like i think it should.

Please if someone could help.....this has been driving me insane!
Just follow the directions exactly and you will pass. Stop worrying about disabling too much! It isn't that hard! If you have addresses that are not aligning stop though and ask the OP.
__________________
2008 Evo X GSR
Self-Tuned
360hp/372tq

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936
America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed.
SiliconTek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 01:58 AM   #75
Danny08GSR
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 6
This is my first attemp at any sort of patch or ecu altering of any kind. So bare with me, sorry for my ignorance.

I feel I have follow the directions EXACTLY. What do you mean by addresses not aligning?

Thanks for your help and patients...
Danny08GSR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 05:41 PM   #76
Danny08GSR
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 6
What if I use 61FF for the first part of the patch instead of 6100?

That sets everything to 1, available. Wouldn't that be better?
Danny08GSR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 07:11 PM   #77
SiliconTek
Forum Addict
 
SiliconTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
iTrader: (100)
Location: Autocrossing Somewhere
Posts: 8,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny08GSR View Post
What if I use 61FF for the first part of the patch instead of 6100?

That sets everything to 1, available. Wouldn't that be better?
Anytime you see, for instance, A0BD->60FF, you need to ensure your starting value is A0BD in this example. Then change it to the 60FF, don't experiment.

Changing an address that doesn't line up with what you had initially can result in your car not going varoom anymore.

Here is what mine looks like. You do not need to touch the other 2 tables.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OBD Readiness.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	27356  
__________________
2008 Evo X GSR
Self-Tuned
360hp/372tq

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936
America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed.
SiliconTek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2011, 03:50 PM   #78
Danny08GSR
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 6
I finally passed emission! Thanks for the information. I was doing it right the whole time, I just misread what I thought should happen. I was thinking both tables should be all 1's.

Now that I understand, can I get picky? Is it possible to pick and chose whice test are supported and which pass so it would appear as stock?
Danny08GSR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2012, 04:02 PM   #79
fostytou
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
iTrader: (0)
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kooldino View Post
Doesn't it need to show "ready" to pass inspection?
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPRimNT View Post
Awesome, thanks goofy. So those other tables are just for "confirming" the changes, you don't have to make them directly to the table.



Yes and no. EGR should show N/A, everything else should be ready, IIRC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golden View Post
This part is correct:



This part is wrong! Leave these bits alone. They are just there to show you that you did the patch correct.


If you applied the first set correctly, then Monitor Passed will be all 1's, and Monitor Available will be all 0's.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golden View Post
Ok, here's the deal. I just went digging into the ROM and I looked at these definitions.

The first one "A1BD->6100"... the 00 part forces your "Monitor Available(1)/Not Available(0)" to all 0's.

And

The one "A0BD->60FF"... the FF part forces your "Monitor Passed(1)/Failed(0)" to all 1's.

The reason is that the addresses overlap.

So you definitely did something wrong when you set those 2 values.

When you enter in the value 6100, you have to type "0x6100" otherwise it will think you are entering a binary number instead of a hexadecimal number.


To recap:
If you set the values correctly, then it is IMPOSSIBLE to get anything other than:
"Monitor Available(1)/Not Available(0)" equal to all 0's
"Monitor Passed(1)/Failed(0)" equal to all 1's
Quote:
Originally Posted by LagginTimes View Post
I just flashed my ECU with these changes. I hooked up my ElmScan5 and opened up OBDWiz to check the before and after states of sensor availability and readiness. This is what I found (top image is before, bottom image is after):



Is this correct? Or did I screw something up somehow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiliconTek View Post
Just follow the directions exactly and you will pass. Stop worrying about disabling too much! It isn't that hard! If you have addresses that are not aligning stop though and ask the OP.

Re-quoting through all of this.

Note the disclaimer from the original CT9A patch:
Quote:
Disclaimer: This patch is for educational and testing purposes only, and not meant for use on public roads. Be aware that applying this patch on a vehicle that is intended to be inspected by the DMV could be illegal and/or arouse suspicision, especially since this patch can allow you to set the heated catalyst, secondary air monitor or a/c moniter to available/pass even though the car doesn't have it.

In IL you will "Pass" with nearly everything showing as "not supported". Doing the mod as described shows
Comprehensive component: Ready
Engine Misfire: Ready
catalytic converter eff: Not supported
Evaporative Control: Not supported
Heated Oxygen sensor: Not supported
Secondary Air System: Not supported
Fuel System Performance: Ready
AC Refrigerant: Not supported
EGR Flow: Not supported
Heated Catalyst: Not supported
Oxygen Sensor: Not supported

Just because you pass does not mean something is not very out of the ordinary. The person at your testing station may look at you strangely, and I assume there is a possibility that they could report someething if you were doing this for a car inteded to be used on the road.

We have to remember that Acamus is not in the US, and may not have the ability to test this or be familiar with how the test works (even though he is a great Dev!).

Basing some assumptions off the CT9A patch where you set patch part 1 (does not affect available / passed values) patch part 2 (does affect available / passed values) and patch (just) (first value does affect available / passed values, second does not) I would think we need to keep some of what is being changed with the first couple of hex values, and still keep the correct set of available / passed values. You can do this one of 2 ways... do the first portions of the patch, then copy your original rom's values back into the available and passed tables -OR- since I've done that already, use my values for the patch on 526800xxx (obviously making sure the originals match if you have not done the mod yet).

My values:
A1BD->6100: 0x61BD
CF94->7000: 0x7000 (correct already)

01E2->7000: 0x7000 (correct already)

A0BD->60FF: 0x60BD
877A->7000: 0x7000 (correct already)




Can someone with a checker in the US please try to do the above settings and check to see if the tests show as passed immediately after setting? That way we will know it is the patch and not driving around for a while.



Obviously, IANAL and you may brick your ECU (though I think it flashed fine on my 52680022). I'll see if I can get a hold of Acamus to confirm the correct setting.
fostytou is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2012, 09:31 PM   #80
Natek
X-phile
 
Natek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
iTrader: (100)
Location: Pittsburgh (Beaver Falls)
Posts: 1,228
Is this thread for if you remove your rear sensor or for if it is disabled from your tune?
Natek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the EvoXForums.com - Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SST OBDII Codes & Info saytheb SST 33 08-31-2014 07:15 PM
blitz sbc temp sensor and pressure sensor can slot in zeitronix zt2? superlemonevo Evo X General 1 04-10-2010 04:17 PM
Removing Rear 02 Sensor Completely hotdog Evo X Engine (4B11T) 7 02-24-2010 05:43 PM
Inspection dminor04 Evo X General 8 02-24-2010 04:28 PM
P0135 02 Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction (Bank 1 Sensor 1) evodicted Evo X Engine (4B11T) 3 03-28-2009 12:11 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:51 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.