Questions about Evo X as a track car - EvoXForums.com - Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Forums
EvoXForums.com - Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Forums
Go Back   EvoXForums.com - Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Forums > Racing > Track
Home Register Forum Store Members List Calendar Auto Loans vBGarage Photo Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Track Discussion for track driving techniques, events and results.

Old 08-12-2008, 06:18 PM   #1
weneversleep

Questions about Evo X as a track car

I'm considering buying an Evo X MR, and once it fulfills its daily driver role, and my current track car (E36 M3) wears out, the Evo will become the track car.

A few questions:

1. How well does the car work, stock, on the track? With most cars, you have to do at least suspension and brake work before they are ready for serious track work. (I'm a PCA instructor, so I'm going to be pushing the car a little harder than a green student) I'm attracted to the Evo because of its seemingly track-ready hardware (Brembos, Bilstein shocks, etc.), but is it really track-ready out of the box?

2. I've never dealt with multi-piston brakes before. How easy is it to change pads on the Brembos, and what kind of brake pads are people running on the track? (I currently run Hawk HT-10s on my M3)

3. How is reliability of the MR TC-SST transmission on the track? I've started to hear rumors of overheating issues, but I really don't want the 5-speed tranny of the GSR.

4. What are people using for track alignment settings? Can camber (front and/or rear) be adjusted? What about toe, and what does this car like?

Obviously, I'm new to the Evo, but I don't think that the wealth of knowledge for the pre-X cars will help with an X on the track. I just haven't found very much info out there regarding the X and serious track use.

Thanks,
--michael
weneversleep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2008, 05:12 AM   #2