Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, newbie here. I’ve been on the forums searching for this issue but can’t find it. If there is something out there, my feelings won’t be hurt, please send link. Well here goes....when the air conditioning is off, the car purrs like a kitten, absolutely no issues! Idle is at 1000-1100. However once the a/c is running, when I come to a stop or have the car in neutral she has a very erratic idle and then shuts off. I’ve read not having heat shield for the intake could send hot air, while the a/c is running, in that area and throw the MAF for loops. So I bought a MAP Rev 2 heat shield to aid in this issue. Installed it, took it out for a drive and the EXACT same thing is happening again! Again if there is a link please send.

Thanks

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Would re-learning idle help or not. Anyone?

·
Registered
130 Posts
Idle is at 1000-1100
Stock idle is in the 700-800 range. I'm going to strongly suspect a vacuum leak somewhere past the throttle body. Did you do any work before it started? The car will still run halfway decently with a vacuum line disconnected but will do funky things under light load (like the AC coming on or tip-in light throttle)

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks. I’ll get on this.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Update...Checked the lines and found only these two (or one) not connected. Did a compression check, nothing less than 162 on all 4. Haven’t done the throttle body clean yet. Being methodical is ok with me not in a big rush.

Attachments

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Oh sorry I did clean the MAF. :imstupid:

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Same outcome.:slaphead:

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #11

·
Registered
55 Posts
hey i posted this here too (https://www.evoxforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=401192)