Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So you all know, I'm a fucking noob when it comes to any kind of racing. On that note, I'm sure a lot of you guys have done auto cross. Any tips for me before I do my first event?

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Some of the clubs have a autox school the saturday before their first event. It's a good way to get your feet wet. If not just show up with a Snell aproved helmet and be sure to catch the novice meeting. Usually at the begining of the season there are lots of first timers so don't get freaked out. Ask for a instructor for your first couple of runs to so you get the hang of it.

Also when your working talk to the guy holding the flag and the radio as much as you can without distracting him from watching and calling in cones. Chances are he has done plenty of events or he wouldn't be in charge of the flag and radio. Get advice.

See if you can get a vet to walk the course with you and explain the lines. Chances are you will forget everything you are told about the propper line your first run, but once you get past looking at cones and actually see the line at speed it will all make sense.

I suggest for your first even run your car in "off" instead of "off off" until you get used to it.

Most important just have fun. Autox is really laid back and I've never met a ******* at a even yet. Everyone is super cool and all there for the same reason. Also get ready to spend some cash. Once you get one event in you will be hooked. Next thing you know you have 3 sets of wheels and tires and every penny you make will go to shaving that last 10th of a second lol

·
[Team IEG VP]
10,071 Posts
You're here in KC region right?

You going to a local KC region scca event?

·
Premium Member
3,612 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah I'm in Manhattan KS right now, but I'm moving to SC next week.

·
Registered
303 Posts