Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to the form but I have owned my evo x for 5 months it's a 2.0L with a gtx3576r. I wondering about what clutch is good for some hard pulls but drives like stock? thanks, guys

·
Registered
128 Posts
Hey guys, I'm new to the form but I have owned my evo x for 5 months it's a 2.0L with a gtx3576r. I wondering about what clutch is good for some hard pulls but drives like stock? thanks, guys

FWIW I went with the setup below and have been happy:

Clutch Masters FX400 - 6-Puck / HR Pressure Plate
Clutch Masters Aluminum Flywheel
MAP Clutch Master Cylinder Upgrade (New OEM Evo9)
STM Clutch Fork Stop

Pedal feels close to stock, but doesn't slip at all dropping it with launch control pushing 540hp/380tq dynojet.
No chatter with the aluminum flywheel, but how light it is takes some getting use to.

·
Registered
179 Posts
X-Puck clutches are only a real issue if they are un-sprung. A solid puck-style clutch is like a lightswitch and is not fun on the street in an AWD car. They're also torture on the drivetrain!

How much torque do you need to hold? Exedy's stage 1 (available in 322/382tq holding specs) is a great street clutch.

If you want to make crazy torque, I'd strongly suggest a twin disc option of some sort.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you for your input. I want to keep my Torque under 400 should I go with a Competition stage 2?

·
Registered
179 Posts
A lot of the guys like the Comp ST2. Do note there are different part numbers for sprung and solid discs for the Competition setup. Both the Exedy and the Comp have a heavier than stock pedal effort and a smaller/tighter engagement point. You'll probably be where you want to be with either setup.

·
Registered
1,810 Posts
Yeah, I have the seedy twin disk HD. And get tired of it quick in traffic. Stiff. And more like an on/off switch engagement wise.