Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys, I'm pretty new to the Evo life and I bought this 2011 Evo X maybe a month ago with a dead clutch. So I changed it with a Competition Clutch Stage 4. After I made a launch with traction control on, it didn't really like it and it stopped wanted to shift in any gear when the car is on! So I thought it was just the TOB that unclipped from the pressure plate but when I try to disengage the clutch everything seems to be moving and the TOB was still clipped in. But I think it doesn't get pulled enough (even though it was getting disengaged a day before), so I checked the slave cylinder and there was some liquid in the rubber boot and some got passed the seals, but other than that, no major leaks coming from there. Do you guys think it could be just the slave cylinder?

Thanks for the responses!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Could definitely be the slave cylinder. The CMC in these cars is plastic from the factory and doesn't like upgraded clutches. There are plenty of good replacements. Check with MAP. They have detailed instructions too.

Thanks, I ordered the slave from the dealer and I'll probably upgrade the CMC. If I don't beat on the clutch too hard you think it's gonna break? Anyway it's winter and there's snow all over so I can't really drive it hard.

·
Registered
269 Posts
It will definitely break again. There was a recall for an upgraded CMC from the dealer. But people have still had issues with it.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Thanks, I ordered the slave from the dealer and I'll probably upgrade the CMC. If I don't beat on the clutch too hard you think it's gonna break? Anyway it's winter and there's snow all over so I can't really drive it hard.