Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
[Team IEG VP]
10,145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What mods would I be able to install myself? I'm an engineer have a few years construction experience, have built my own computer and rc cars. Point being I'm hands on and not afraid of doing some work. However, I'm no car expert and would rather pay to have someone install whatever accessory then f*ck it up and pay to have it fixed. So far I'm thinking I could install:

-Intake
-MBC or EBC (not sure on EBC as I don't know how easy/hard it is to route wires through the firewall)

well thats about it. as far as having a shop install it would probably be:

-Boost gauge (and any other gauges. what other gauges do people think are a must have or "probably should" have?) (or can I do these myself?)
-exhaust
-FMIC (or can I do this?)
-intake piping (or can I do this?)

My goal with this car is to add on horespower but not excessivelly. Reliability is far more important to me then power as of right now. I'm thinking maybe another ~80 whp and I'd be happy. In other words, the mods listed above and a good tune and thats it.

Also, will I have to get a new clutch with these mods? I'm a newb so tell me if I'm forgetting/missing something. Any hidden costs...

EDIT
Will probably do suspension also at somepoint but for now I'm talking more power mods then suspension/brake mods

·
Registered
567 Posts
I think your very capable of doing all those Bolt ons. Your just going to have to do your research and sift through all the DIY threads here and over on Mnet. Your first time installing some of these mods will be miserable...always is. 2nd and 3rd time is usually a snap.

Toughest one on the list might be the boost gauge ie wiring and creative mounting.

Easiest will be intake...OR you can just go with a drop in since your power goal is not that high.

FMIC might take some time. Mainly taking shit off and out of the way.