Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I recently bought an accessport for my 2013 MR. I knew that the car had a tune on it before I connected the ap, but was under the impression that it was only a cobb stage 2. So once I connected the ap, I flashed a stage 2 tune onto the car since I thought it wouldn't change anything. I took the car for a test drive and it drove horribly. The car would behave normally until the turbo kicked in and whenever I shifted. The car would stutter and backfire a ton (I saw about 8 for total knock sum at one point as well), also whenever I hit about 3500 RPM the car would act like it was choking and would lose power. I'm new to tuning and would like all the help I can get, please.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Hey guys, I recently bought an accessport for my 2013 MR. I knew that the car had a tune on it before I connected the ap, but was under the impression that it was only a cobb stage 2. So once I connected the ap, I flashed a stage 2 tune onto the car since I thought it wouldn't change anything. I took the car for a test drive and it drove horribly. The car would behave normally until the turbo kicked in and whenever I shifted. The car would stutter and backfire a ton (I saw about 8 for total knock sum at one point as well), also whenever I hit about 3500 RPM the car would act like it was choking and would lose power. I'm new to tuning and would like all the help I can get, please.
The way Cobb works is that it stores a copy of the ECU data when first being installed into the car. It sounds like the car had a custom tune, not a Cobb OTS tune on it. Which means it probably has mods done to it. What mods have been done? If it's not Cobb's parts, then u can't use OTS maps safely. So I would uninstall the AP completely. This will flash the previous tune back to it. Figure out what mods you have and get a custom tune for those mods with your AP.

·
Registered
11 Posts