24,215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking of picking up some coilovers.

My requirements:

1. Better handling than stock
  2. Low NVH - I don't want it to clunk or make noises
  3. Adjustable damping and height (duh)
  4. Rebuildable
I've heard Ohlins are nice but make some noise.

I've driven cars with HKS coilovers (not sure which) and they seemed solid.

I've heard good things about the Fortune Auto, but I have no experience with them.

Money is an object, but I don't mind paying for better quality if it's worth it.

Thoughts?

·
Premium Member
11,756 Posts
For minimum noise, look for coils that work with stock top hats. As longas that is possible, pretty sure you will not have any noise issues. As far as which exact model, I think KW V3 or clubsports will be good balance between adjustability, price and availability. Can't go wrong with them.

·
Registered
6,195 Posts
I had mine for two seasons and 20k miles - no noise on my Ohlins.

Best ones I ridden in so far. Ohlins, KW V3, H&R's

·
Premium Member
5,995 Posts
KW's are fantastic, and so are ohlins - some of the best don't get me wrong. We sell a ton of them. But, I am definitely a Fortune Auto fanboy. I've been extremely impressed with their workmanship, and you are able to essentially customize them to your spec. Valving, spring rates, you name it. There are also a lot of options for upgrades, such as helper springs and swift spring upgrades depending on the model you choose. The roller bearing upgrade is designed solely for the purpose of having "quiet" coilovers. They are awesome.

We're a direct authorized dealer and we sell these more than any other coilovers we carry hands down.

·
Registered
6,195 Posts
Dino, who the hell keeps saying Ohlins make noise? Maybe they have an ear infuction.