Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10,008 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the past one of the only ways of getting E85 was from a distributor like alcotane, now finally a service station (just one :() sells E85 at the pump!!!!

Its available @ Melville gull .. Hamilton.. sigh... cant wait till some more Gull service stations pick it up.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Then you got to watch theblend.. tthe quality of pump E85 is VERY unrelaible for tuned cars over here.. We go to a control fuel specailist and get a motor sport blend in jerry cans for saftey :).. but it's a step

5,198 Posts
Then you got to watch theblend.. tthe quality of pump E85 is VERY unrelaible for tuned cars over here.. We go to a control fuel specailist and get a motor sport blend in jerry cans for saftey :).. but it's a step
It depends on location for sure.

Here in Northern California, the E85 blend is spot on E82-E85 all year round.

I've been using it for over 2 years now 24/7 in two cars.

·
Registered
10,008 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
10-4 on that, will be interesting if it takes off, one would hope that the more gas stations pick this up the better the blend will be.

·
Registered
2,257 Posts
This is finally starting to get rolled out fairly well in Victoria, AU.
made the switch last week. Impressed!
fortunately i have a servo 5mins from my house now :):)

We have two "brands" at the pump. one mob, Caltex, is usually E70. the other mob, United, consistently is E85 it sounds like.

·
Registered
2,257 Posts
Aussie ethanol is definitely sugar based.
I would assume NZ gets their stuff from us?

We have a massive sugar cane industry in north eastern Australia , and the leftovers once the sugar is extracted (molasses i think) is what they use for ethanol production.
Quite different to corn being used as the primary product that can either go into a digestive system, or into a fuel tank :)

·
Registered
2,257 Posts