Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of replacing my exhaust manifold with the MAP cast one. I have had a lot of troubles with the studs and nuts that connect into the head. They were rusted on there so bad I ended up snapping one in half and another stud tore the aluminum threads off in the head. I am attempting to fix the threads with a time sert, the head is still in the car so it’s pretty hard to get a good look and maneuver back there. This is the first time sert I put in and don’t think it was done right, it’s not flush with the counter bore, will this be fine or should I take it out and use a big sert and attempt to fix it again? Sorry if in the wrong thread, this is my first time using a forum

·
Registered
998 Posts
In order to replace that, drive an easy out into it and turn it out. You should be able to get away with re-doing the installation by tapping the hole further and trying again with a new insert. If it does not fit flush with the head, stop and remove the new one before locking it in place with the TIME-SERT tool.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
In order to replace that, drive an easy out into it and turn it out. You should be able to get away with re-doing the installation by tapping the hole further and trying again with a new insert. If it does not fit flush with the head, stop and remove the new one before locking it in place with the TIME-SERT tool.
I will remove it and give it another shot, if the original threads that are tapped into the aluminum head are angled and not straight, will I need to use a big sert? Or could I run the drill bit provided with the kit in there again and retap the threads again straight?

·
Registered
7,799 Posts