Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
1,787 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
The controversial question that I thought I'd pose my fellow X owners about. I've read many forums (different auto enthusiast forums) and know its one of the top argued items in an engine build. I have noticed that the 4G63 guys will tell you that the I-beam is the way to go, but I have some experience with Honda motor builds (turbo and n/a) and know plenty of guys with B-Series motors, high whp that run H-Beams and rev the sheit out of them with no issues (500+whp turbo or N/A on the Bottle). Would love to hear what an engineer (or a very very experienced engine builder) would say both + and - on both rods and why 1 would be the true shine. Considering most of us (even those with built motors) don't really see above 550+whp is an I beam an overkill, or worth that piece of mind? I also understand the true deciding/major factor that plays into a rods fatigue is its actual metallurgy allot of times, or unseen blemishes in the metal.

So whats your thoughts? Really worth (from most reputable) the 2x price for us guys who aren't making 600+whp?

·
Registered
556 Posts
I picked I beams because my goal is 750/800 whp and I don't want to worry about my rods later. I personally believe weight is just as important and that's where h beams come into play. I know arron from English racing has thousands of miles on his 800 whp Evo and he is running h beams for the weight savings.

·
Registered
1,787 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
go I beam
Any further insight, other then just stating the above. :tumbleweed:

Why? Because its the more expensive of the two rod design types, therefore must be the better for the application? Did you say that because its what you run? Why would an H beam not support the majority of power made by most of us X owners?

·
[E-Tuner]
15,860 Posts