Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
5,820 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A questing for you pro tuners out there, [email protected], Clipse, etc. How important do you feel the actual dyno is when doing a tune. I've heard that Dynos like a Dyno Dynamics, since it can put different load values on the car while tuning, will allow a more thorough and better tune. Whereas a Dynojet cannot? First of all, is this true, and how much of a difference does it actually make? Should I choose one shop over another if they are both reputable based upon the type of Dyno they use?

If you don't mind, for the sake of fairness, could you also list what type of Dyno you use, I don't expect people to be entirely objective, but do your best!

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,820 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Giving this a friendly bump, I don't think this has been asked before =]

·
[Local Team Member], aka pimplay2
7,791 Posts
I am not a pro tuner... but a Dyno is just a tool.... if you get a baseline of 200hp or 1000000 hp it doesnt matter which Dyno it is off of because it is just a number..... Then they work up from there... Say baseline is 200 and after tune is 320 well now you know you gained 120hp, in this case the dyno only matters for the number but you as the owner knows you gained X amount of hp/tq...

As for Clipse I believe he uses a "virtual dyno" because he does street tunes, some1 correct me if wrong

·
Registered
923 Posts
The dyno isn't really important it's the difference in power from before and after the tune.
As long as the tuner doesn't change dyno settings for the different runs it should be pretty representative.

·
Registered
5,820 Posts
Discussion Starter #6