Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I’m finally getting around to writing some guides for everyone and figured I’d start from the very beginning…a very good place to start! By way of introduction, I am an electrical engineer, a computer geek and a proud Evo X owner. I have NO, I repeat NO formal education in automotive mechanics and am writing these guides to benefit the community as a whole. That said, I am NOT in ANY way responsible or liable for any mishaps that may occur. ALWAYS take it upon yourself to verify and re-verify information…especially information found on the Internet. Ok, now that the CYA (cover you’re a$$) clause is out of the way....onward!

As most of you know, (or else you wouldn’t be visiting the ECUFlash subforum), ECUFlash is, and I quote “…a general-purpose ECU reflashing and editing tool…uses the OpenPort vehicle interface to reflash vehicles via the OBDII port. ECUFlash also allow you to edit ECU data (known as ‘maps’ or ‘tables’) in a human-redable format using an XML-based definition system to translate the data.” (excerpt from OpenECU.org’s ECUFlash page.)

What does this mean to us, the proud owners of Mitsubishi’s EVO X? It means that, given a little patience and a healthy dose of study, we can self-tune our cars, enhancing performance, drivability and even gas mileage while maintaining very safe thresholds. Excited? Good…you should be!

So, how do you get started? First, order your OpenPort 2.0 cable/dongle from Tactrix. You do NOT need the OpenPort 2.0 with Full Adapter Set if you plan on just tuning your EVO X. While you are waiting for your cable, download the latest version of ECUFlash. It will install on XP and Vista 32bit or 64bit editions of both. Please note that for XP users, SP3 is HIGHLY recommended by the developer Colby Boles. (Incidentally, please note that this whole effort is funded by donations and purchases of hardware from Tactrix!)