Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Had my OEM ECU hacked last month, my tuner installed EcuTek software, a test pipe and then we went out on the autobahn to pull some logs and re-map my car.

I have to say he done an awesome job:thumbup:

Got some noOb questions...

Q1) will I always have to go back to the same tuner? is my ECU now password protected like the OEM ECU is?

Q2) Next month I'm getting a new DP, turbo elbow, fuel pump and 3 port. Will i need re-tuned? (I think 100% for the 3 port)but what about the other mods?

Q3) If the OEM ECU can be hacked and EcuTek software can be up-loaded, then whats the point of buying after markets ECU's like MoTec etc...?

thanks...I'm still learning all this technical stuff:confused2:

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Bump! :dancebanana:

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
another bump!! am I the one and only??? cant be?:dancebanana:

5,198 Posts
First off, if you have a FQ Evo you already had Ecutek on the car. I hope your tuner didn't charge you again for the license.

Q1) will I always have to go back to the same tuner? is my ECU now password protected like the OEM ECU is?
No, anybody with Ecutek can tune your car.

·
aka MitsuEvoX
1,000 Posts
For starters, I don't know anything about EcuTek.

1.) You shouldn't have to go to the same tuner.
2.) Retune for fuel pump and 3 port
3.) The OEM ecu is pretty amazing. AFAIK, the only reason to use an aftermarket ecu would be for anti-lag. I think Robevo is the only one on this forum who has one, but he rally's his Evo.

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
you say that but if i raise my revs to 5500rpm when stationary.... it sounds just like anti-lag does (backfiring every tenth of a second??) and then I can launch like Ive just been fired out of a cattapult??!!! cant explain it!

·
aka MitsuEvoX
1,000 Posts