Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I am fairly new to the car scene, by that I mean i passed my test last year and am currently driving a mini.. the evoX and evoIX have been my dream cars since i can remember, the only issue is I do not know much about cars in general.
My question is for a newbie like myself (21yr old) what would you reccomend. I thing the EvoX would be best bet since its newer, and also has alot more convinience features and would probably be more practical
I also like the IX cause of the looks and the parts for it seem to be a fair bit cheaper than an evoX. howver its older and is more "fun" but people have mentioned it isnt the best for daily driving.
Also the reason for getting my dream car so young is i plan to pay it off in 3 or so years while im still living at home so i can get the payments out of the way before Mortgage's and bills etc
If anyone could let me know what they would reccommend or if they have any advice please let me know
Cheers
(Also i'm from the UK if that changes anything)

·
Registered
99 Posts
Evo X has more luxuries. It is also heavier and has an aluminum engine block.

The IX has an iron block so you won’t need to sleeve them if you aim for more power down the line. They are also significantly lighter than the X. If I remember correctly the UK spec IX also has AYC which is either a plus or a minus depending on what you want. Worst part of the IX is NO OEM CRUISE CONTROL:mad:.

Though if you want a car that can make power more reliably(600hp+) with stock block, I’d look into other platforms(JZ, RB26/30, V8s etc)

But like you said if this is your dream car then the IX or X won’t disappoint performance wise. Reliability could be better. It’s also in essence a crappy economy car with a different drivetrain, suspension and body. So the cheap plastic, rattles and bad sound dampening will still be there.

·
Registered
2 Posts