Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some technical jargon busting.

Ive never owned a turbo car or modded a car and Ive been asking about running in the X (when it finally bloody arrives!)

Anyway the advice was vary the revs to get the seals bedded in well but dont rev too long and dont keep it "on boost"

Now I know "on boost" is something to do with the turbo kicking in but can somebody break this down for me and do me a "boost for idiots" guide. I have no idea how to get it on boost nevermind stop it again.

Yes I know some laughing and pointing will now follow :thumbup:

·
Registered
21 Posts
First off, there is no such thing as a stupid question. Second, I am no expert. Third, boost is when you hit a certain RPM the turbo begins to spool and yeah, you get your boost. How quick you get your boost depends on your car, how much you floored it and obviouslly, the turbo you got.

Example, with american muscle cars, you feel the torque the whole way. It's a endless surge of power from start to finish. With turbo, you feel as the power picks up as the turbo spools.

Off topic, you seen a Shelby GT-500 Mustang put the pedal to the floor? It was as if thunder struck it's back end. All you felt was everyhting around you vibrate as you see this car take off in a cloud of smoke. Then you begin to hear the loudest freaking roar! Evo doesn't do this. Obviouslly, it doesn't have the power and it's all wheel drive. But, you definitely feel like a god when the turbo kicks in. (basically instantly)

·
Administrator
24,218 Posts
That would be considered a VERY laggy car. It doesn't really kick until 5000rpm.